Start Planning
We've already thought ahead for your next getaway. Whether you're a local searching for a short break, or an international traveller with an extended Guyana itinerary — we're here to help you start planning.

Public Holidays 2017

This page contains a national calendar of all 2017 public holidays. These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates.

1 JanSunNew Year's Day
2 JanMonNew Year Holiday
23 FebThuRepublic Day
12 MarSunHoli
13 MarMonHoli Holiday
14 AprFriGood Friday
17 AprMonEaster Monday
1 MayMonLabour Day
5 MayFriArrival Day
26 MayFriIndependence Day
1 AugTueEmancipation Day
1 SepFriEid ul-Azha
19 OctThuDeepavali
1 DecFriYouman Nabi
25 DecMonChristmas Day
26 DecTueBoxing Day

The laws of Guyana establish official holidays for the nation. Once established by the legislature, the Ministry of Home Affairs sets the official register of national holidays and paid holidays.

Guyana uses a five-day work week; the standard week runs from Monday through Friday. Sunday is a traditional day of rest or weekly holiday. Financial institutions work primarily Monday through Friday. Most commercial businesses operate on Saturdays. Sunday is not a paid holiday unless otherwise provided in the official paid holidays.